Lab members

Andras Simon

Andras Simon

Principal Investigator

Born in Budapest, Hungary, in 1969, András Simon has studied biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. During his postgraduate studies at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Stockholm, with Ulf Eriksson as supervisor, he focused on retinoid metabolism in the retinal pigment epithelium of the eye. After receiving his PhD in 1999, he became interested in salamander regeneration and moved to University College London, UK, to work with Jeremy Brockes. Since 2003 he is a group leader at the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, where his group is studying cell and molecular mechanisms of limb and brain regeneration in salamanders.

andras.simon@ki.se
073-9044040

Matthew Kirkham

Matthew Kirkham

Senior Research Fellow

Matthew investigates the immune response after brain injury.
matthew.kirkham@ki.se

Alberto Joven Araus

Alberto Joven Araus

Postdoctoral Researcher

alberto.joven.araus@ki.se

Ivanna Mayorenko

Ivanna Mayorenko

PhD Student

ivanna.mayorenko@ki.se

Ahmed Elewa

Ahmed Elewa

Postdoctoral Researcher

ahmed.elewa@ki.se

Anoop Kumar

Anoop Kumar

Senior Research Fellow

anoop.kumar@ki.se

Elaiyaraja Subramanian

Elaiyaraja Subramanian

Postdoctoral Researcher

elaiyaraja.subramanian@ki.se

Zeyu Yao

Zeyu Yao

PhD Student

zeyu.yao@ki.se

Alexander Giannakakis

Alexander Giannakakis

Research Assistant

alexander.giannakakis@ki.se

Alumni

Sara Lööf, PhD student, 2002-2008

Jamie Morrison, postdoc, 2003-2007

Anna Beljajeva, PhD student, 2003-2007

Pingping He, postdoc, 2005-2006

Paula Borg, PhD student, 2008-2011

Daniel Berg, PhD student, 2007-2012

Benny Coyac, Research Assistant, 2013

Justyna Zareba-paslawska, Postdoctoral Researcher, 2014-2016

Laure Belnoue, Postdoctoral Researcher, 2012-2017

Heng Wang, Postdoctoral Researcher, 2012-2017

Shahul Hameed, PhD student, 2012-2018

Tiago Pinheiro, PhD student, 2013-2018

Goncalo Brito, PhD student, 2013-2018