Lab members

Andras Simon

Andras Simon

Principal Investigator

Born in Budapest, Hungary, in 1969, András Simon has studied biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. During his postgraduate studies at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Stockholm, with Ulf Eriksson as supervisor, he focused on retinoid metabolism in the retinal pigment epithelium of the eye. After receiving his PhD in 1999, he became interested in salamander regeneration and moved to University College London, UK, to work with Jeremy Brockes. Since 2003 he is a group leader at the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, where his group is studying cell and molecular mechanisms of limb and brain regeneration in salamanders.

andras.simon@ki.se
073-9044040

Matthew Kirkham

Matthew Kirkham

Senior Research Fellow

Matthew has a sub group in the lab investigating the immune response after brain injury.
matthew.kirkham@ki.se

Goncalo Brito

Goncalo Brito

Research Assistant

goncalo.brito@ki.se

Laure Belnoue

Laure Belnoue

Postdoctoral Researcher

laure.belnoue@ki.se

Heng Wang

Heng Wang

Postdoctoral Researcher

heng.wang@ki.se

Shahul Hameed

Shahul Hameed

PhD student

shahul.liyakath.ali@ki.se

Tiago Pinheiro

Tiago Pinheiro

PhD student

tiago.pinheiro@ki.se

Alberto Joven Araus

Alberto Joven Araus

Postdoctoral Researcher

alberto.joven.araus@ki.se

Ivanna Mayorenko

Ivanna Mayorenko

PhD Student

ivanna.mayorenko@ki.se

Ahmed Elewa

Ahmed Elewa

Postdoctoral Researcher

ahmed.elewa@ki.se

Justyna Zareba-paslawska

Justyna Zareba-paslawska

Postdoctoral Researcher

justyna.zareba-paslawska@ki.se

Alumni

Sara Lööf, PhD student, 2002-2008

Jamie Morrison, postdoc, 2003-2007

Anna Beljajeva, PhD student, 2003-2007

Pingping He, postdoc, 2005-2006

Paula Borg, PhD student, 2008-2011

Daniel Berg, PhD student, 2007-2012

Benny Coyac, Research Assistant, 2013